







A smile changes everything...but NOT without volunteers!

Volunteers are the very lifeblood of Interfaith Dental. It would be <u>impossible</u> to provide transformational care for the number of patients who face barriers to affordable care <u>without</u> the service of generous and skilled volunteers. Clinical and non-clinical volunteers serve at Interfaith. Dentists typically serve a 2-4 hour shift and can choose how frequently they want to volunteer based on their availability...everything helps! Specialists continue to give care in their own offices (or ours!), and the patient is charged on the same fee scale as at Interfaith's clinics. Dental Hygienist and Dental Assistant volunteers also enable the clinic to give care to more patients in need. Our non-clinical volunteers are currently serving on our Smile Squad as Patient Care Assistants, manning the front door, greeting patients and visitors, and asking them health screening questions.

Here's the impact these volunteers made at Interfaith from July 2021 – June 2022:

- Approximately 175 clinic volunteers donated 4,610 hours in service!
- The total market value that volunteer dentists/specialists & hygienists provided for Interfaith patients from July 2021– June 2022 was \$416,002 —this is an **invaluable** supplement to the care provided by staff.

Category	Number of Volunteers	Hours
Dentists & Specialists	85	2,794*
RDHs	17	131
RDAs	49	1583**
Education Center- Dentist & Specialist instruction	24	102

^{*}includes Vanderbilt's OMS residents hours; **includes non-licensed students who are helping to fulfill some of the nonclinical support functions, freeing up RDA staff to focus more fully on patient care directly.

This value means Interfaith's financial resources can be used in the most efficient way possible! Anyone interested in volunteering at either clinic can contact Hannah Keen at 615-942-1240 or volunteer@interfaithdental.com or https://interfaithdental.com/volunteer/











Additionally, Interfaith recognizes a special group of volunteer dentists annually—Dentists of Distinction. This society promotes volunteerism and support from dentists and specialists. Dentists must qualify each year to stay on the list and are typically honored at both Story Behind the Smiles' (SBTS) events. Dentists serving in both the Greater Nashville clinic and the Rutherford County clinic were recognized at our fall 2022 events.

The qualifications for being a Dentist of Distinction include:

- •20 or more volunteer hours service per calendar year
- •Personal gift of \$1,200 or more per calendar year
- •Or a combination of gifts and service

July 2021– June 2022 Dentists of Distinction include the following:

Service to Rutherford County clinic:

Dr. Jeffrey C. Bell

Dr. JoKeidre' Butler

Dr. Pam Chamberland

Dr. Walter C. Chitwood*

Dr. Jay G. Davis

Dr. Grant Dillingham

Dr. Anthony Ditcharo*

Dr. Todd Fisher

Dr. Dr. Jennifer

Gordon- Maloney

Dr. Derrick Gregory

Dr. Daniel Hipps

Dr. Marc Hodges

Dr. Ben Jamison

Dr. Rachel Johnson

Dr. Ted Johnson III

Dr. Brad Lewallen*

Dr. John P. Murfree

Dr. Kimberly Pitts

Dr. S. Scott Shepherd*

Dr. Jess Sinquefield

Dr. David Spivey

Dr. Buffy Storm

Dr. Carson Taylor

Dr. Roy Thompson

Dr. Ron Wright

Service to Greater Nashville clinic:

Dr. George Adams, Jr.

Dr. Zach Adkins

Dr. Arthur N.

Anderson III

Dr. Laura Aristizabal

Dr. Thomas Bailey

Dr. Ion Baese

Dr. Eric Brockman

Dr. Daniel C. Burchfield

Dr. James N. Burton

Dr. Chris W. Cain

Dr. Austin Carr

Dr. H. Daniel Clark

Dr. Chip Clayton

Dr. William Cone

Dr. Lindsey W. Cooper

Dr. Brian Crump

Dr. Jeffrey Culbreath

Dr. Matthew DeFelice

Dr. Dale Dunn

Dr. Charles Earnhardt

Dr. Ruth Ross Edmonds

Dr. Heather Fagin

Dr. Phillip Faucette

Dr. James Fili

Dr. Mark Freeland

Dr. Jono Gluck

Dr. Joel Gluck

Dr. Kathy Hall

Dr. Margaret Hamilton

Dr. Jerry Hancock

Dr. Dan D. Harris, Ir.

Dr. Steven Hecklin

Dr. Thomas Heeren

Dr. Julie Hull

Dr. Doug Hunter

Dr. Jeff Hunter

Dr. Annie Iones

Dr. Raj Kshatri

Dr. Caleb King

Dr. Mary Cay Koen

Dr. Tammy Kussman

Dr. Michael Locke

Dr. David Long

Dr. Don Lunn

Dr. Samuel McKenna

Dr. Bruce C. McLeod

Dr. I. David Meister

Dr. Carol Montee

Dr. loe Mort

Dr. Michael J. Murray

Dr. James Pace Sr.

Dr. Jeff Penner

Dr. Daniel Price

Dr. Terryl Propper

Dr. Robert Pulliam

Dr. Gregory Richardson

Dr. Deborah Robbins

Dr. Jaime Romero

Dr. J. Ryan Seaton

Dr. John K. Shea

Dr. Phillip Shipp

Dr. Robert E. Sims

Dr. Robert Sjursen

Dr. Clay Sparrow

Dr. Tom Underwood

Dr. Anthony Vaughn

Dr. Elizabeth Waggener

Dr. Dennis I. Wells

Dr. Phil Wenk

Dr. John R. Werther

Dr. Brian West

Dr. Kevin D. West

Dr. Andrew Wicke

Dr. John Workman

Dr. Sean Young

Dr. J. Terry

Zimmerman*

*recognized for service in both locations



